BLACKPINK Confirmed Cardi B Is Featured on Their New Album—Here Are All the Deets

Photo: Amy Harris/Invision/AP.

BP 2020 is coming. BLACKPINK’s management company, YG Entertainment, confirmed that the girl group’s new album is complete and will be ready for our ears very soon. So what do we know about BLACKPINK’s album 2020 release date, tracklist and news? Well, here’s the tea that YG Entertainment spilled the tea about Jennie, Lisa, Jisoo and Rosé’s upcoming music. Needless to say, we can’t wait.

A version of this story was originally published in May 2020. 

When is BLACKPINK’s album 2020 release date?

YG Entertainment confirmed on July 27 that BLACKPINK’s album 2020, titled The Album, will be released on October 2, 2020. The band also released two singles before the album. The first single was “How You Like That” in June. The second single was a collab, titled “Ice Cream,” with Selena Gomez in August. After weeks of rumors, Gomez confirmed her collaboration with BLACKPINK on her Instagram in August. “So SO excited to announce @BlackPinkOfficial and I have a new song coming out August 28th!” she wrote at the time.

Along with The Album, YG Entertainment also launched an Amazon shop of BLACKPINK merch themed around The Album, “How You Like That” and “Ice Cream.” Some of our favorites include the “Ice Cream” key chain (with a fake ice cream cone), the BLACKPINK monopoly set and the “How You Like That” T-shirt with a cool drippy BLACKPINK heart.


Image: Courtesy of YG Entertainment.

YG also described the comeback as a “three-step, multi-phased release” in July. “BLACKPINK’s first new song, which will be released in mid-June, is a pre-release title track. The BLACKPINK members are currently preparing to film the music video for the song, and they are picking up the pace of their final preparations, including practicing their new choreography,” YG Entertainment said in a statement in May 2020. “The second new song, which is a special kind of a new song, is scheduled for a release in July or August. As it’s a first studio album that [BLACKPINK] has been preparing for a long time, we hope to create more opportunities for the group to greet fans through performances and other content than in any year before through a three-step, multi-phased release.”

On June 26, BLACKPINK released their comeback single, “How You Like That.” After BLACKPINK’s album 2020 release in October, Rosé, Lisa and Jisoo also plan to release solo tracks following Jennie’s “Solo” in 2018. “YG has recently informed the fans regarding BLACKPINK’s upcoming comeback and official album release in June and September. After monitoring many responses made by fans in and out of Korea, it seemed that many of you were curious on the solo release plans by individual members, so we decided to inform you on how they are being prepared,” YG Entertainment tweeted in June. “YG has released Jennie’s first-ever solo single SOLO back in November 2018, and has been working on Rosé’s first-ever solo track for over a year. We ask for your understanding on taking more time than expected, since we were planning to release multiple songs in an album format, rather than releasing a digital single. Rosé’s solo works have already been completed, and its release date is planned to be in September after the release of BLACKPINK’s first-ever full-length album. It is because all the members agreed that BLACKPINK’s comeback as an entire group and their first-ever full-length album release is more important than anything. Furthermore, Lisa’s amazing solo single is already prepared for release, and we are currently preparing for Jisoo’s solo single release as well.”


Image: Courtesy of YG Entertainment.

The statement continued, “The solo releases by the members will continue in sequential order, after the release of BLACKPINK’s first-ever full-length album release upcoming [sic] in September. YG is always grateful towards the fans in and out of Korea, who have shown interest and affections towards BLACKPINK until this day. We are also always monitoring your opinions which may sound trivial, but are in fact very helpful. YG will not stop the support and effort to help BLACKPINK create better music and to help them grow as admirable artists. That is because it’s the first and most important thing we should consider to repay your love and support towards BLACKPINK. Today is June 1st. Please continue to encourage and support the members of BLACKPINK, who are continuing to work hard for the final preparation process for their upcoming comeback this month. Thank you.”

What is BLACKPINK’s album 2020‘s track list?

BLACKPINK announced the tracklist for The Album in September 2020. See below for the track list. Highlights include “Bet You Wanna” (which features Cardi B) and “Lovesick Girls” (which was co-written by Jennie and Jisoo.) “And the song is amazing 😉,” Cardi tweeted after the track list was announced. “Bardipink in your area👀👀👀👀”

  1. “How You Like That”
  2. “Ice Cream” (Feat. Selena Gomez)
  3. “Pretty Savage”
  4. “Bet You Wanna” (Feat. Cardi B)
  5. “Lovesick Girls”
  6. “Crazy Over You”
  7. “Love to Hate Me”
  8. “You Never Know”

Before the track list for BLACKPINK’s album 2020 was announced,  YG Entertainment confirmed in May 2020 that the LP would consist of 10 tracks (including “How You Like That” and “Ice Cream,” a collab with Selena Gomez), which the band had already recorded. As fans know, the track list was cut down to eight songs. The third single from The Album is titled “Lovesick Girls,” which was co-written by Jennie and Jisoo. The single was announced a week before the release of The Album. “As it’s a first studio album that [BLACKPINK] has been preparing for a long time, we hope to create more opportunities for the group to greet fans through performances and other content than in any year before through a three-step, multi-phased release,” YG Entertainment said in a statement.

BLACKPINK Ice Cream Phone Cases

Image: Courtesy of YG Entertainment.

What is BLACKPINK album 2020‘s title and cover?

YG Entertainment announced on July 27 that BLACKPINK’s album 2020 will be titled The Album, which references how the upcoming LP will be the band’s first full-length album. The cover for the album includes a crown with a glimmering jewel in the center

BLACKPINK’s most recent EP, Kill This Love, which was released in April 2019, featured a pink shield-like symbol.

Our mission at STYLECASTER is to bring style to the people, and we only feature products we think you’ll love as much as we do. Please note that if you purchase something by clicking on a link within this story, we may receive a small commission of the sale.

New Entertainment Newsletter