And the 2016 CFDA Awards Nominees Are…



The Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced their newest batch of nominees for the 2016 CFDA Awards, the industry’s annual celebration of top talent in design, media, and innovation.

As in years prior, many of the names on the list are familiar—The Row, Marc Jacobs, Proenza Schouler—but the Swarovski Awards honoring emerging talent in womenswear, menswear, and accessories are always a good place to look to see the rising stars in American fashion.

There had been significant speculation today the one Kim Kardashian West will be honored with the Fashion Icon Award—a distinction that has in past years been bestowed on stars like Rihanna, Kate Moss, and Pharrell Williams—but it turns out this isn’t her year, since the award isn’t being included in the 2016 ceremony.

Still, it’s not to say she won’t be recognized at some point—that may seem dubious, but it ensures mainstream buzz around the awards, which might otherwise be an industry affair. (Rihanna, if you’ll recall, nearly broke Google with her naked dress the year she bagged the honor.) The CFDA isn’t alone in pandering to the masses either: The Daily Front Row just announced that they’re honoring Lady Gaga as “Editor of the Year” for her guest-edit of a recent V issue.

We’ll find out the winners at the June 6 ceremony, but until then read on for this year’s nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Proenza Schouler: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez
Altuzarra: Joseph Altuzarra
Rodarte: Kate and Laura Mulleavy
The Row: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen

Menswear Designer of the Year
Thom Browne
Public School: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne
Rag & Bone: David Neville and Marcus Wainwright
Todd Snyder
Tim Coppens

Accessories Designer of the Year
Irene Neuwirth
The Row: Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen
Altuzarra: Joseph Altuzarra
Mansur Gavriel: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel
Proenza Schouler: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Monse: Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia
Brandon Maxwell
Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Orley: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, Samantha Orley
John Elliott
Gypsy Sport: Rio Uribe

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Brother Vellies: Aurora James
Paul Andrew
Gigi Burris

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Norma Kamali

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Imran Amed, editor in chief of The Business of Fashion

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert
Donna Karan

International Award
Gucci: Alessandro Michele

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award
David Bowie