California teens ages 15 to 17 will no longer be able to hit tanning beds thanks to a new law.
This past Sunday, California Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill into law that will prevent minors from using tanning beds, effective January 1, 2012.
While this is the first law in the country to completely prohibit underaged teens from using tanning beds, a handful of other states are in the process of passing similar bills.
Currently in California, teens who are 14 to 17 years old are allowed to use tanning salons with their parents’ permission, but come next year they’ll no longer have that option.
We have to give it up to California for making the ban official, seeing as young girls certainly don’t need to “fake’n’bake.” Not to mention, they don’t need to increase their chances of getting melanoma, which is the second most common form of cancer for people ages 15 to 29 years old, according to The Skin Cancer Foundation.
What do you think about the new tan ban? Tell us in the comments below!